Can a landlord charge for a pet in Arkansas, and what does the law require for an assistance animal?

Verified September 21, 2026 Correction October 2, 2026 All Arkansas topics →

Arkansas caps a security deposit at two months' rent, and a pet deposit counts inside that ceiling rather than on top of it.

Cited to A.C.A. § 18-16-304 and 14 more cited sources · Verified September 21, 2026

The catch is who the cap binds: an individual who owns five or fewer dwelling units is outside the deposit law entirely, so a pet deposit there has no limit at all, unless the units are managed for a fee by a third person, which pulls them back in. Pet rent and pet fees are unregulated everywhere, no lease has to mention pets, and no statute limits a landlord's breed, size or weight rule. Nothing extra may be charged for a trained service animal in housing, and the handler is liable for any damage the animal does. An emotional support animal is treated differently: Arkansas defines one as an animal that needs no training or certification, which puts it outside the service-animal fee bar, so what protects it is the federal rules and the state duty to make reasonable accommodations. Arkansas regulates the letter instead of the landlord — a provider may not write one without an active license, a thirty-day relationship with the patient and a yearly evaluation — and fraudulently passing an emotional support dog off as a service animal carries civil penalties of $500, $1,000 and $2,500. Since 2025 no Arkansas city or county may cap a pet deposit or a pet fee.

Arkansas pets & assistance animals at a glance

Which law governs The money answers sit in the Arkansas security-deposit subchapter, sections 18-16-301 to 18-16-306, which the Residential Landlord-Tenant Act of 2007 expressly sends every deposit question back to (section 18-17-501). The assistance-animal answers come from three different places: the emotional-support-animal subchapter at sections 20-14-1001 to 20-14-1005, created in 2023 and extended in 2025, which regulates the document and the people who sell and certify rather than the landlord; the older service-animal rights section, 20-14-304, which carries the no-extra-charge rule and reaches housing accommodations; and the Arkansas Fair Housing Act of 2001, sections 16-123-301 and following, whose reasonable-accommodation clause is the only route by which an emotional support animal reaches a landlord at all. Local authority is settled by the preemption sections in the local-government title, sections 14-54-1409 for cities and 14-16-601 for counties.
Where in the state the answers differ Two different owner tests run side by side, and they do not line up. The deposit subchapter does not apply to dwelling units owned by an individual where that individual, a spouse and minor children, and any partnership, corporation or other entity formed to rent dwelling units of which they are officers, owners or majority shareholders, own five or fewer dwelling units between them (section 18-16-303, subsection (a)) — but that exemption is switched off for any unit whose management, including rent collection, is performed by a third person for a fee (subsection (b)). So a small owner who hires a management company is back inside the two-month cap. The Fair Housing Act's accommodation duty uses a different line: it does not reach a single-family house sold or rented by an owner who owns no more than three at a time, nor rooms or units in a building occupied or intended for no more than four families where the owner lives in one of them, with a one-sale-in-twenty-four-months limit for a non-resident owner. The emotional-support-animal subchapter has no owner threshold at all, because it does not bind landlords.
Which landlords are covered

Not every landlord — an owner-occupied or unit-count exemption takes some landlords outside at least one of these rules.

The money rules reach only some Arkansas landlords, and the line is five units. The security-deposit subchapter does not apply to dwelling units owned by an individual who, together with a spouse, minor children and any entities they control that were formed to rent dwelling units, owns five or fewer dwelling units — so below that line a pet deposit is an unregulated lease term, with no ceiling and no return machinery. The exemption is lost for any unit managed, including rent collection, by a third person for a fee, which pulls professionally managed small portfolios back inside the cap. The lease and pet-policy answers are the same for everyone, because Arkansas has no lease-content rule about pets to exempt anyone from. The Fair Housing Act's accommodation duty, which is what reaches an emotional support animal, has its own and different exemption for an owner of no more than three single-family houses and for an owner-occupied building of no more than four families. Arkansas has no manufactured-home-park pet rule and no publicly financed housing pet rule, so no housing class carries its own row.

Pet deposit

Yes — no pet figure exists, but a pet deposit is a security deposit however it is named and counts inside the general deposit cap.

Arkansas has no pet-deposit statute, and it does not need one: the cap reaches a security deposit however denominated, so a refundable pet deposit counts inside the two-month ceiling along with the ordinary deposit wherever the subchapter applies. Where it does not apply — an individual owning five or fewer dwelling units, none of them managed for a fee by a third person — a pet deposit is an unregulated lease term, and a large share of Arkansas rentals sit there. Where the cap does apply, the rest of the deposit machinery applies too: return within sixty days with a written itemization, and if the payment is returned undelivered and the tenant cannot be found after reasonable effort it becomes the landlord's after a hundred and eighty days. A tenant who is wrongly kept out of the money may recover it plus damages equal to twice the amount wrongfully withheld, together with costs and a reasonable attorney's fee, though a landlord who proves a procedural error or a good-faith dispute is liable only for costs and the sum withheld. Nothing extra may be charged for a trained service animal; an emotional support animal is a different question, answered below.

Refundability: A pet deposit held as security is refundable in the same way as any other deposit: within sixty days of the end of the tenancy the property or money held as security must be returned, less accrued unpaid rent and damages, all itemized in a written notice delivered to the tenant (section 18-16-305). Arkansas has no concept of a designated non-refundable fee, so there is no way to convert a deposit into something the tenant cannot get back.

The general deposit cap it sits against: Two months' periodic rent for everything held as security: a landlord may not demand or receive a security deposit, however denominated, in an amount or value in excess of two months' periodic rent (section 18-16-304). The section has not been amended since 1979. The deposits page carries the general cap, the sixty-day return and the itemization rules.

Where the rule switches off or on: The whole subchapter, and with it the two-month ceiling, switches off for an individual owner of five or fewer dwelling units, counting the units owned by a spouse, minor children and any entities they control formed to rent dwelling units (section 18-16-303, subsection (a)). It switches back on for any unit managed, including rent collection, by a third person for a fee (subsection (b)).

Pet rent and pet fees

Yes — no statute caps, authorizes or forbids pet rent or a pet fee.

No Arkansas statute mentions pet rent or a pet fee, and no general rule reaches either. There is no cap, no reasonableness standard and no disclosure duty, and the landlord-tenant chapters carry no occurrence of the words pet, animal, dog or cat at all. The one boundary that does exist runs against local government rather than landlords: since 2025 no Arkansas city or county may enforce an ordinance controlling the amount charged for rent, rental application fees or rental deposits, so a local cap on a pet charge is not available either.

Monthly pet rent: Monthly pet rent is simply rent, which the subchapter defines as all payments to be made to the landlord under the rental agreement (section 18-16-301). It is not a deposit, so the two-month ceiling does not touch it, and no statute caps it or tests it for reasonableness.

A one-time pet fee: A one-time pet fee is unregulated. Arkansas never enacted a bar on non-refundable fees of the kind several other states have, so there is no rule for a pet fee to run into — and equally no mechanism for designating a deposit as non-refundable. Whether money taken at move-in is a deposit inside the ceiling or a fee outside it turns on whether the landlord holds it as security.

Pet policy in the lease, and changing it mid-tenancy

No — no statute requires a lease to state a pet policy, and no written-rules provision governs one.

Arkansas imposes no lease-content duty about pets: no required statement, no conditional disclosure, no statutory default when the lease is silent, no limit on the number of animals and no condition a landlord may not impose. The terms-and-conditions section of the Residential Landlord-Tenant Act of 2007 does not mention animals, and neither does any other section of the landlord-tenant chapters. Arkansas also never adopted the uniform act's rules-and-regulations section, the provision other states use to govern a rule the landlord adopts after the lease is signed, so a mid-tenancy change to a pet rule is a question of the lease and of contract law alone. The practical consequence is that in Arkansas the landlord's own pet agreement is the operative instrument, and an appellate decision from 2026 shows a jury holding a landlord to it.

Breed, size and weight restrictions

Yes.

No Arkansas statute restricts, authorizes or preempts a landlord's breed, size or weight rule, and there is no carve-out saying an assistance animal may not be refused on breed. A landlord may prohibit a breed by lease, and the 2026 decision noted below arose from a pet agreement that did exactly that. The word breed appears nowhere in the landlord-tenant chapters and nowhere in the Arkansas Fair Housing Act, and in the state's rules it appears only in agriculture — livestock, seed certification and labeling. Arkansas also has no statute limiting what a city may do about breeds, so local animal-control ordinances are a separate question from the housing answer.

Assistance animals: the state instrument and who it binds

Yes — a state statute or rule sets what a landlord may request or what a certifier must meet for an assistance animal in housing. The operative rules are statutory. State law incorporates a federal statute or codified regulation by reference.

Arkansas has no statute giving a tenant a right to keep an assistance animal. What it has is a reasonable-accommodation clause in the Arkansas Fair Housing Act of 2001: discrimination includes a refusal to make reasonable accommodations in rules, policies, practices or services when the accommodations may be necessary to afford a person with a disability equal opportunity to use and enjoy a dwelling, including public and common use areas (section 16-123-314), subject to a proviso that nothing requires a dwelling to be made available to a person whose tenancy would be a direct threat to the health or safety of others or would result in substantial physical damage to the property of others. The act says nothing about animals, so that clause plus the federal rules is the route. Beside it sits a 2023 subchapter that regulates the paperwork and the market rather than the tenancy, and a 2025 section that reads at first like permission to refuse: unless prohibited by the federal Fair Housing Act as it existed on January 1, 2025, or other existing federal law, a private property owner may ban an emotional support animal from his or her private property (section 20-14-1005). The opening words do the work — for any rental the federal act covers, the exception swallows the rule — and the subchapter separately says it does not restrict or change existing federal or state law about a person's rights to reasonable accommodation and equal access to housing. The older section 20-14-304 gives a person with a disability the right to be accompanied by a trained service animal in housing accommodations without an extra fee or charge. Arkansas sets no interactive-process rule, no presumption, and no deadline for a landlord's answer.

Who it binds: The emotional-support-animal subchapter binds nobody as a landlord. Its duties run against healthcare providers, against people and businesses that sell an emotional support dog or the certificates, tags, vests, leashes and harnesses that go with one, and against anyone who fraudulently represents such an animal as a service animal; there is no unit threshold because there is no landlord duty to threshold. What reaches a landlord is the Fair Housing Act's accommodation duty, and that carries the act's own exemption: it does not apply to a single-family house sold or rented by an owner who does not own more than three at any one time, nor to rooms or units in a dwelling occupied or intended for no more than four families where the owner actually maintains and occupies one of them, with a further limit of one sale in any twenty-four month period where a non-resident owner sells. Religious organizations and private clubs are outside the act, and housing for older persons has its own rules. The service-animal fee bar in section 20-14-304 has no owner exemption of its own; it runs to the housing accommodations the older subchapter lists.

What counts as an assistance animal An emotional support animal is an animal that provides emotional, cognitive or other similar support to an individual with a disability and does not need to be trained or certified, and an emotional support dog is the same thing in dog form (section 20-14-1001). A healthcare provider is a person licensed, certified or otherwise authorized by the laws of Arkansas to administer health care in the ordinary course of the practice of his or her profession — a broad test rather than a list of license types. A service animal, for the 2023 subchapter, means an animal as defined in the federal disability regulations as they existed on January 1, 2023. The older service-animal rights section runs on a different and narrower standard: a service animal especially trained to do work or to perform tasks for the benefit of an individual with a disability, together with a service dog as defined in the federal disability act as it existed on January 1, 2017. Those two standards are the whole of the Arkansas answer on charges, because an emotional support animal by the state's own definition does not need to be trained or certified and so cannot satisfy the older section's especially-trained test.
Documentation a landlord may request, and what a certifier must meet

No state text lists the questions a landlord may ask; what the state regulates is the documentation and its source.

A licensed or qualified professional must certify. A treatment relationship is required. The law tests the certifier's conduct before issuing. The certifier's own rule requires a relationship with the person of at least thirty days before writing the documentation. Annual re-evaluation is required.

Who may certify: Any healthcare provider, meaning a person licensed, certified or otherwise authorized by the laws of Arkansas to administer health care in the ordinary course of the practice of his or her profession (section 20-14-1001). Arkansas sets no list of license types and no specialty requirement, but it sets conditions the provider must meet before writing anything: a valid, active license whose effective date, number, jurisdiction and type must appear in the document itself; a license to provide the professional services in the jurisdiction where the document is given; a client-provider relationship established at least thirty days beforehand; a clinical evaluation at least once each year; a verbal or written notice to the individual that misrepresenting an animal as a service animal may carry a civil penalty; and a review of the need before the document is renewed each year (section 20-14-1003). These are duties on the provider, not entitlements of the landlord.

The relationship test: The thirty-day client-provider relationship is the test, and it has one express waiver: it is not required for a person verified to be homeless (section 20-14-1003). Homeless status may be verified in any of three ways — identification through the local homeless management information system as the federal regulations define it, a continuum of care as those regulations define it or a homeless services provider contracting with one, or visual confirmation by a homeless services provider of a person dwelling in a homeless shelter, an encampment, an outdoor makeshift shelter or a vehicle.

The certifier's duties: Six of them, and they are the whole of the Arkansas documentation rule. A healthcare provider may not give documentation about a person's need for an emotional support dog unless the provider holds a valid, active license and puts its effective date, number, jurisdiction and type in the document; is licensed to provide the services within the scope of that license in the jurisdiction where the document is given; has established a client-provider relationship at least thirty days earlier, unless the person is verified to be homeless; completes a clinical evaluation of the person at least once each year about the need for the dog; gives the person verbal or written notice that misrepresenting an animal as a service animal may carry a civil penalty; and reviews the need before renewing the documentation each year (section 20-14-1003). A provider who breaks any of these may be disciplined by his or her own licensing board. A separate rule binds the market rather than the clinic: anyone who sells or provides a dog for use as an emotional support dog, or sells a certificate, identification, tag, vest, leash or harness for one, must give a written notice that the dog does not have the special training required to qualify as a service animal and is not entitled to a service animal's rights and privileges, and that misrepresentation may carry a civil penalty — in bold type of at least twelve points, on the receipt, on the product or on a separate piece of paper (section 20-14-1002).

Arkansas regulates the letter, not the landlord, and the difference matters. Nothing in Arkansas law says what a landlord may ask for, whether a landlord may require a form, whether medical records may be demanded, whether an online certificate counts, or how quickly a landlord must answer a request; those questions are governed by the federal rules. What Arkansas does is tell the healthcare provider what a document supporting an emotional support dog must contain and what the provider must have done first: an active license with its details set out in the document, a client-provider relationship of at least thirty days unless the person is verified to be homeless, a clinical evaluation at least once a year, a warning to the person about the misrepresentation penalty, and a yearly review before renewal. Breaking those rules exposes the provider to discipline by his or her licensing board, and to a civil penalty action brought by a public attorney. It gives the landlord nothing to enforce — there is no landlord remedy in the subchapter, and the subchapter says in terms that it does not restrict a person's rights to reasonable accommodation and equal access to housing. A landlord who reads the thirty-day rule as a right to reject a letter from a provider the tenant met last week is reading a duty on someone else.

Charges for an assistance animal

Under state law, yes — the state bar reaches only a trained service, guide, hearing or assistance dog, or a certified animal; the federal rules still govern an emotional support animal; the bar is an express no-extra-charge clause, in a statute.

Arkansas bars an extra charge for a trained service animal in housing, and only for one. Every individual with a visual, hearing or other disability has the right to be accompanied by a service animal especially trained to do work or perform tasks in public ways, public places, other public accommodations and the housing accommodations the subchapter lists, and may not be required to pay any extra fee or charge for the animal (section 20-14-304). The housing reach, the fee bar and the damage rule all predate the 2017 amendment, which added the federal service-dog limb and removed the word "physical", so the right reaches every individual with a visual, hearing or other disability. The emotional-support-animal subchapter enacted in 2023 says nothing about money at all, and Arkansas's own definition of an emotional support animal — one that does not need to be trained or certified — is mutually exclusive with the especially-trained standard the fee bar hangs on. So under state law alone a landlord may charge a pet deposit or pet rent for an emotional support animal; what stops that in most tenancies is the federal rules and the state accommodation duty, not this section.

The definition it hangs on: The bar runs to 'a service animal especially trained to do work or to perform tasks for the benefit of an individual with a disability', together with 'a service dog as defined in Titles II and III of the Americans with Disabilities Act, as it existed on January 1, 2017' (A.C.A. 20-14-304, subsection (a)) — a training limit on its face. Arkansas's own emotional support animal, by contrast, 'does not need to be trained or certified' (A.C.A. 20-14-1001, paragraph (1)), so it cannot meet that test.

Damage caused by an assistance animal

The tenant is liable for damage the animal causes like any other tenant, by express words.

The handler is liable, and the statute says so for housing in terms: a person accompanied by a service animal in any public way, public place, public accommodation or housing accommodation is liable for any damage caused to the premises or facilities by the animal (section 20-14-304, subsection (b)). The words are wider than an ordinary damage clause — liability for any damage the animal causes, not damage beyond ordinary wear and tear — and they have been in the section since 1999. Arkansas says nothing about a tenant's liability for damage by an emotional support animal, so the lease and the deposit rules do that work. Killing or injuring a service animal without just cause is a Class D felony, and the offender must make restitution to the animal's owner (subsections (d) and (e)).

Landlord immunity: A narrow one, added in 2025: a private property owner or business owner is not liable for an injury to a customer or visitor by an emotional support animal except in a case of gross negligence (section 20-14-1005, subsection (b)). The words to notice are customer or visitor — the section does not name a tenant or a neighboring tenant, so it is much narrower than the general landlord immunities some states have enacted, and no Arkansas court has construed it.

Misrepresenting an assistance animal

An offense or sanction that reaches a misrepresentation made to obtain housing: a civil penalty and licensing discipline, reaching the person claiming the animal, the certifier who signs, and a vendor of false documents. Penalty terms: $500 for the first violation; $1,000 for the second violation; $2,500 for the third and any subsequent violation; and a civil penalty not to exceed $250 for each violation of the public-accommodation offense (§ 20-14-310). The text names no venue and no court has construed its reach, so it reaches housing by its general words.

Knowingly and fraudulently representing, selling or offering for sale an emotional support dog as being entitled to the rights and privileges the law gives a service animal carries a civil penalty of $500 for a first violation, $1,000 for a second and $2,500 for a third or later one (section 20-14-1004). The offense names no place, so it reaches a claim made to a landlord as well as one made anywhere else, and it is brought by the Attorney General or a prosecuting, county or city attorney rather than by the person lied to. The same penalties reach a seller who breaks the written-notice duty. A separate and older offense is limited to public accommodations: an individual may not misrepresent an animal as a service animal or a service animal in training to a person or entity that operates a public accommodation, and may face a civil penalty of up to $250 for each violation (section 20-14-310). On the other side of the paperwork, a healthcare provider who breaks the documentation rules may be disciplined by his or her licensing board, which puts Arkansas among the states whose law reaches the person who writes the letter. No warning is required before any of this, and none of it creates a remedy a landlord can use.

Where the words leave the reach open: Arkansas has two offenses and only one of them is limited by place. The 2023 offense has no place element at all, so on its face it reaches a tenant who presents an emotional support dog to a landlord as a service animal; the section's savings clause preserving housing rights is a savings clause, not a place limit. No Arkansas court has construed it, and the subchapter is untested in the state's appellate courts, so its reach into housing rests on the words alone.

Who enforces it: Only a public attorney may bring the penalty action: the Attorney General, or the prosecuting attorney, county attorney or city attorney for the place where the violation happened (section 20-14-1004). There is no private right of action, so a landlord cannot bring it and gets nothing from it. The provider limb runs through the provider's own licensing board instead.

Can cities add their own rules

In part — state law preempts the kinds of local rule named as barred, and any power named is one state law grants.

Since 2025 no Arkansas city or county may cap a pet charge. The two preemption sections, one for cities and one for counties, bar a local governmental unit from enacting, maintaining or enforcing an ordinance or resolution that would have the effect of controlling the amount charged for rent, rental application fees or rental deposits in private residential or commercial leasing. A pet deposit is a rental deposit and a pet fee charged at application is a rental application fee, so an ordinance capping either is out of reach; before the 2025 amendment the preemption covered rent control only. The carve-out in the text, which preserves the statewide two-month deposit cap, is a floor rather than a grant of local power. What a local ordinance may still do is regulate pets as animals — licensing, vaccination, nuisance — and set rules for housing in which the local government itself has a property interest. There is no fair-housing devolution in Arkansas: enforcement of the state act sits with the Arkansas Fair Housing Commission, and no city or county has its own fair-housing or pet-charge ordinance here.

Local deposit or fee rules barred: As to leasing private residential or commercial property, and except as provided under the security-deposit cap, a local governmental unit may not enact, maintain or enforce an ordinance or resolution that would have the effect of controlling the amount charged for rent, rental application fees or rental deposits. The bar binds landlords, property owners, property managers, tenants, prospective tenants and real estate companies alike, and it does not impair a local unit's right to manage property in which it has a property interest. Before a 2025 amendment this section preempted rent control only; the fee and deposit limbs are new. Text: A.C.A. § 14-54-1409 · (a)-(c) (municipalities).

Local deposit or fee rules barred, a second instrument: The county section is textually identical to the municipal one and was widened by the same 2025 act, so a county ordinance controlling the amount charged for rent, rental application fees or rental deposits is preempted on the same terms. Text: A.C.A. § 14-16-601 · (a)-(c) (counties).

Housing classes with their own pet rule No manufactured-home park, publicly financed, public-housing or senior-housing rule departs from the answers above
Insurance and dog breeds No statute restricts an insurer's use of dog breed in underwriting
How state law refers to the federal rules Arkansas borrows federal definitions four times, and freezes each one on a date, which is the fact worth knowing: if the federal definition changes, the Arkansas one does not change with it. Service animal, for the emotional-support-animal subchapter, means an animal as defined in the federal disability regulations at 28 C.F.R. 36.104 as they existed on January 1, 2023 (section 20-14-1001). The homeless-status waiver in the documentation rule borrows the homeless management information system and continuum of care definitions from 24 C.F.R. 578.3 as it existed on the same date (section 20-14-1003). The 2025 private-property section is expressed as subject to the federal Fair Housing Act, 42 U.S.C. 3601 and following, as it existed on January 1, 2025, or other existing federal law (section 20-14-1005). And the older service-animal rights section borrows the service-dog definition from Titles II and III of the Americans with Disabilities Act as it existed on January 1, 2017 (section 20-14-304). No Arkansas statute or rule adopts any federal agency notice or joint statement about assistance animals. The federal rules themselves, and where they stand now, are on the federal section of the 50-state page.
Changes already signed into law No signed act is waiting to change these answers
Leading court decisions Westside Loft Apartments v. Fowler, 2026 Ark. App. 160 (Arkansas Court of Appeals; residential setting; bears on the topic as a whole): A tenant was attacked outside her apartment by a neighbor's dog, which slipped its collar and lunged at her and her two small dogs; her own dogs had been documented to the landlord as emotional support animals under the landlord's pet agreement, that agreement prohibited certain breeds including the neighbor's, and she had asked the landlord about the other dog's service-animal status without getting an answer. A jury awarded $30,000 in compensatory and $10,000 in punitive damages and the Court of Appeals affirmed the whole judgment, holding that the landlord's failure to act on her warnings, its refusal to collect or provide proof of vaccination, the eviction notice that followed her complaints, and its failure to secure the supporting documentation about the other dog's status that its own policy required, together supported punitive damages. The decision construes no statute, because Arkansas has none here; its significance is that where the code is silent the landlord's own pet agreement is the operative instrument, and a jury may punish a landlord for not applying it.

Cite this page: "Landlord Atlas, Arkansas Pet & Assistance Animal Laws (verified September 21, 2026), landlordatlas.com/laws/pets/arkansas/" — free to cite and quote with a link (how these records are verified). Everything above is cited in the citations section below.

Arkansas assistance-animal documentation at a glance

Each row is what the state's own statute or rule says about that slot; a row that reads not stated is a slot no state text addresses. The full text of each slot, with its section, is in the table above.

Slot What the state's text says
Who may certify, and on what test A licensed or qualified professional must certify. A treatment relationship is required. The law tests the certifier's conduct before issuing.
The certifier's minimum relationship period Thirty days
Telehealth Not stated
Online registration or certificate Not stated
Form Not stated
Medical records Not stated
Written answer from the landlord Not stated
Annual re-evaluation Required
Proof of vaccination or licensing Not stated

Federal law on pets and assistance animals, in every state

The federal layer for the pets and assistance-animals topic, carried once for the whole site. It is a dated history rather than a single rule: the Fair Housing Act's accommodation duty has not changed since 1988 and the regulation under it has never contained the word animal, while the HUD guidance that most writing on this subject still quotes was withdrawn in September 2025, permanently rescinded in May 2026, and replaced by an enforcement position that governs HUD's own cause determinations and nothing else. Every row names who it binds, and most of the rows that carry real figures bind only federally assisted, public or rural-development housing. No state record restates these rows; a state record says only where its own law references or extends them. Each row below says who it binds before it says what it does. The full text of each row, with its citations, is on the 50-state page.

Notes and caveats

Common questions: Arkansas pets & assistance animals

Each answer is the verified value from the table above, restated as a direct answer. Free to quote with a link to this page.

Can a landlord charge a pet deposit in Arkansas, and is there a limit?
Yes — no pet figure exists, but a pet deposit is a security deposit however it is named and counts inside the general deposit cap. Arkansas has no pet-deposit statute, and it does not need one: the cap reaches a security deposit however denominated, so a refundable pet deposit counts inside the two-month ceiling along with the ordinary deposit wherever the subchapter applies.
Can a landlord charge pet rent or a non-refundable pet fee in Arkansas?
Yes — no statute caps, authorizes or forbids pet rent or a pet fee. No Arkansas statute mentions pet rent or a pet fee, and no general rule reaches either.
Does an Arkansas lease have to state a pet policy?
No — no statute requires a lease to state a pet policy, and no written-rules provision governs one. Arkansas imposes no lease-content duty about pets: no required statement, no conditional disclosure, no statutory default when the lease is silent, no limit on the number of animals and no condition a landlord may not impose.
Can an Arkansas landlord restrict pets by breed, size or weight?
Yes. No Arkansas statute restricts, authorizes or preempts a landlord's breed, size or weight rule, and there is no carve-out saying an assistance animal may not be refused on breed.
Does Arkansas have its own assistance-animal law for rentals?
Yes — a state statute or rule sets what a landlord may request or what a certifier must meet for an assistance animal in housing. The operative rules are statutory.
What documentation can an Arkansas landlord ask for when a tenant requests an assistance animal?
No state text lists the questions a landlord may ask; what the state regulates is the documentation and its source. A licensed or qualified professional must certify.
Can an Arkansas landlord charge a pet deposit or pet rent for an emotional support animal?
Under state law, yes — the state bar reaches only a trained service, guide, hearing or assistance dog, or a certified animal; the federal rules still govern an emotional support animal; the bar is an express no-extra-charge clause, in a statute. Arkansas bars an extra charge for a trained service animal in housing, and only for one.
What is the penalty for falsely claiming an assistance animal in Arkansas?
An offense or sanction that reaches a misrepresentation made to obtain housing: a civil penalty and licensing discipline, reaching the person claiming the animal, the certifier who signs, and a vendor of false documents. Penalty terms: $500 for the first violation; $1,000 for the second violation; $2,500 for the third and any subsequent violation; and a civil penalty not to exceed $250 for each violation of the public-accommodation offense (§ 20-14-310).

Changes since last full verification

The Verified date above (September 21, 2026) marks the last time every figure on this page was verified end-to-end against official sources. The changes below were published since then, each verified against the official source it names (what these dates mean).

Citations

How this record was verified: Arkansas is read on three official surfaces, because no single one serves everything. The code text comes from the State of Arkansas's official public-access code service, in two dated files, each carrying the service's own currency line: current through the First Extraordinary Session of 2026, including revisions made by the Bureau of Legislative Research under the direction of the Arkansas Code Revision Commission. Those files carry the whole of title 18, chapter 17, the Residential Landlord-Tenant Act of 2007, chapter 16 and chapter 60, subchapter 3 — 98 sections in all — and sections 14-54-1409 and 14-16-601 in full with their History lines. The statutes that matter most here were then read in full on the official enrolled acts, in the Legislature's own document archive: Act 268 of 2023, which created the emotional-support-animal subchapter; Act 819 of 2025, which added the private-property section; Act 459 of 2025, which widened the local preemption; Act 652 of 2017 and Act 571 of 1999, which carry the service-animal fee bar and its housing reach; Act 1002 of 2019, which created the public-accommodation offense; and Act 1785 of 2001, the Arkansas Fair Housing Act, read in full for the accommodation duty and the exemption chain. Acts 116, 339 and 562 were opened and read and carry no animal text. The Legislature's own list of code sections amended in each session was read for titles 16, 18, 20 and 23 across the 2023 and 2025 regular sessions and the 2026 fiscal and first extraordinary sessions, and each row's act metadata was read for the emergency-clause line. The Legislature's act full-text search, which searches the body of each act rather than its title, was run across seven sessions for emotional support, assistance animal, service animal, dog, breed and landlord. The Code of Arkansas Rules was searched on the state's own rules site, footer last updated September 21, 2026, for assistance animal, emotional support, service animal, fair housing, landlord with animal, and breed, with every result identified. One appellate decision was read in full as a document on the Arkansas judiciary's own opinion host: Westside Loft Apartments v. Fowler, 2026 Ark. App. 160, decided March 4, 2026. The Arkansas Code's title 23, which carries the Insurance Code, was searched in full text on the State's official public-access code service for breed, dog and canine; every hit sits in the horse-racing, greyhound-racing and esports chapters.

What was read to state each absence on this page: