Can a landlord charge for a pet in Tennessee, and what does the law require for an assistance animal?

Verified September 21, 2026 All Tennessee topics →

Tennessee sets no limit on a pet deposit, pet rent or a pet fee, because it caps no security deposit at all and has no pet-charge statute.

Cited to Tenn. Code Ann. § 66-28-406 (a), (b), (c), (d), (e), (f), (g), (h) and 21 more cited sources · Verified September 21, 2026

A refundable pet deposit held against damage is an ordinary security deposit and carries the deposit rules with it in the counties the landlord-tenant act covers, while a non-refundable pet fee sits outside those rules entirely. The state's real rule is the assistance-animal one, and it is stronger than its reputation: a tenant or applicant with a disability may ask for an exception to any policy that bars animals or that requires a payment to keep one, and the landlord may refuse only if the tenant fails to supply accurate, reliable documentation after being asked. It covers an animal kept for emotional support, because the statute says so. Documentation may come from a healthcare provider licensed in any state, from a disability-services organization, or from a caregiver, reliable third party or government agency, so long as that source actually knows about the disability; a certificate bought from a website that sells them does not count. A landlord may not demand medical records. No lease has to state a pet policy, and no statute touches breed, size or weight. Faking the need is a Class B misdemeanor and is also a material default that lets the landlord end the tenancy and recover damages and attorney's fees, with no conviction needed.

Tennessee pets & assistance animals at a glance

Which law governs Tennessee answers this page from the property title, not from its civil-rights act. The assistance-animal rule was enacted twice in 2019 so that it reaches every county: section 66-28-406 sits inside the landlord-tenant act, which applies only in counties of more than 75,000 people, and section 66-7-111, in the leases chapter, carries the identical text with no county limit. The money and lease machinery around them is the landlord-tenant act: section 66-28-104 for the definitions, section 66-28-301 for deposits, section 66-28-402 for a landlord's rules, and section 66-28-505 for noncompliance and the lease-default limb. The misrepresentation offense is section 39-16-304 in the criminal code. Two older leases-chapter sections carry guide-dog rules: sections 66-7-104 and 66-7-106. The civil-rights act's housing part adds only a general duty to make reasonable accommodations, and since 2025 Tennessee has no fair-housing agency: the Human Rights Commission was abolished and all of its rules were repealed, so the Attorney General's civil rights enforcement division or a private action under section 4-21-311 is where a complaint goes.
Where in the state the answers differ One duty on this page changes by county and the rest do not. The landlord-tenant act applies only in counties having a population of more than seventy-five thousand according to the 2010 federal census (section 66-28-102, subsection (a)), and the list is frozen there: a 2021 act deleted the words 'or any subsequent federal census', so later censuses do not move it. In those counties the deposit machinery, the rules and mid-term-change section and the lease-default limb all apply. In every other county none of that exists, and a lease and the common law govern instead. The assistance-animal rule is not affected either way, because section 66-7-111 states it again for the whole state in identical words. A reader finds which side of the line a property is on by its county's 2010 census population.
Which landlords are covered The assistance-animal rule binds every landlord in Tennessee, because section 66-7-111 sits in the leases chapter and carries no population threshold, no unit threshold, no owner-occupancy exemption and no exemption clause at all. Its twin, section 66-28-406, says the same thing but binds only in counties of more than 75,000 people by the 2010 census, and so does the rest of the landlord-tenant act: the deposit rules, the landlord's rules section and the lease-default limb reach only those counties. The act also does not govern five arrangements anywhere: residence in an institution, occupancy under a contract of sale, transient lodging, occupancy by a condominium or cooperative owner, and occupancy on agricultural premises (section 66-28-102, subsection (c)). Both assistance-animal sections carve out public housing owned by a governmental entity, but only to the extent the section conflicts with federal or state law, which is narrower than a flat exclusion. The civil-rights act's owner-occupied duplex and single-room exemptions do not carry over: by their own words they limit only section 4-21-601, and neither assistance-animal section refers to them.
Pet deposit

Yes, with no statutory limit.

No Tennessee statute mentions a pet deposit, and Tennessee caps no security deposit of any kind, so there is no ceiling for a pet deposit to sit under and none for it to count against. What decides the question is the definition: a security deposit is an escrow payment made to the landlord to secure against loss from damage beyond ordinary wear and tear and from the tenant's breach (section 66-28-104, subdivision (14)). A refundable pet deposit held against pet damage answers that description and carries the whole deposit scheme with it in the counties the landlord-tenant act covers: it must sit in an account used only for that purpose at a regulated institution, the tenant must be told where that account is at signing, the move-out inspection rules apply with the tenant's right to be present and a mutually signed damage listing that is conclusive evidence of its accuracy, and a landlord who does not keep the account and listing duties forfeits the right to retain any part of it (section 66-28-301). A non-refundable pet fee is not an escrow payment and falls outside the definition entirely, so no deposit rule reaches it. In the counties the act does not cover there is no deposit statute at all. One express prohibition runs statewide: no deposit may be required for the guide dog of a legally blind tenant whose dog came from a recognized training school, and a violation is a Class C misdemeanor (section 66-7-106).

Pet rent and pet fees

Yes — pet rent or a pet fee may be charged, and no statute caps it.

Tennessee sets no figure for pet rent, a pet fee or a pet deposit, imposes no reasonableness standard on any of them, and has no bar on non-refundable fees, so all three are lease terms. The statute's only recognition of pet money is the premise of the assistance-animal sections, which let a tenant with a disability ask for an exception to a landlord policy 'that requires any payment by a tenant to have an animal or pet on the premises'. Those words cover a deposit, a fee and monthly rent alike, which is why the exception reaches every form of pet money. Nothing requires a pet charge to be disclosed before signing.

Monthly pet rent: Nothing caps a monthly pet rent or requires it to be reasonable. It is a lease term. One limit reaches it from outside the landlord-tenant act: no local government may pass an ordinance that has the effect of controlling the amount of rent charged, so a city or county cap on pet rent runs into that bar.

A one-time pet fee: A one-time pet fee, refundable or not, is a lease term. Tennessee has no general rule against non-refundable fees anywhere in the landlord-tenant act or the leases chapter, and the only fee ceiling in either is the late fee, which may not exceed ten percent of the rent past due and by its own words covers a charge for the late payment of rent (section 66-28-201, subsection (d)). A non-refundable fee is also outside the security-deposit definition, so the deposit rules do not reach it.

Pet policy in the lease, and changing it mid-tenancy

No — but a written-rules or mid-term-change provision would govern a pet rule the landlord adopts.

No Tennessee statute requires a lease to state a pet policy, prescribes a pet clause, supplies a default when the lease is silent, or limits how many animals a tenant may keep. In the counties the landlord-tenant act covers, the section on a landlord's rules is what governs a pet rule: it must apply to all tenants in the premises and be reasonably related to its purpose, and a rule adopted mid-tenancy binds only if reasonable notice is given and it does not work a substantial modification of the agreement, with no consent route round that limit. Elsewhere in the state none of that exists. Where a tenant keeps an animal the lease does not allow, the landlord's route in the covered counties is ordinary material noncompliance: a 14-day cure period, cut to 7 days on a repeat of the same breach within six months (section 66-28-505, subsection (a)). No class of publicly financed housing in Tennessee must allow pets; the state housing agency's own rules contain no animal word at all.

Changing the rule mid-tenancy: In the counties the landlord-tenant act covers, a landlord may adopt rules about the tenant's use and occupancy from time to time, and a rule is enforceable only if its purpose is to promote the convenience, safety or welfare of the tenants, preserve the property from abusive use or fairly distribute services, it is reasonably related to that purpose, it applies to all tenants in the premises, it is explicit enough to tell the tenant what to do, it is not a way round the landlord's own obligations, and the tenant had notice of it at signing (section 66-28-402, subsection (a)). A rule adopted after the tenant signs binds only if reasonable notice of its adoption is given and it does not work a substantial modification of the rental agreement (subsection (b)). Tennessee offers no written-consent route round that: a substantial modification is simply unenforceable. Because valid rules under that section are part of the rental agreement by definition (section 66-28-104, subdivision (12)), a pet rule lives under it. In the counties the act does not cover, no such section exists and the lease alone governs.

Breed, size and weight restrictions

Yes.

Tennessee law says nothing about breed, size or weight in rental housing, in either direction and in every housing class. The word 'breed' does not appear in the landlord-tenant act or the leases chapter at all, the civil-rights act's housing part contains no animal word, and no public act of the last sixteen years, out of 8,442, created a breed rule, a breed preemption or a breed-underwriting rule. There is no carve-out saying an assistance animal may not be refused on breed. What a tenant with a disability has instead is the exception mechanism: the assistance-animal sections let the tenant ask for an exception to a landlord policy 'that prohibits or limits animals or pets on the premises', and a breed, size or weight limit is such a limit, so it is met by a documented request rather than by a breed-specific bar. Whether a Tennessee city may pass a breed-specific dog ordinance is not answered by any statute.

Assistance animals: the state instrument and who it binds

Yes — a state statute or rule sets what a landlord may request or what a certifier must meet for an assistance animal in housing. The operative rules are statutory.

A tenant or prospective tenant with a disability who requires the use of a service animal or support animal may request an exception to a landlord's policy that prohibits or limits animals or pets on the premises, or that requires any payment by a tenant to have an animal or pet on the premises (section 66-28-406, subsection (b), and section 66-7-111, subsection (b)). Because the duty runs to a prospective tenant, it reaches the application stage. What the landlord may ask for in return is fixed by subsection (c), and the only ground for saying no is fixed by subsection (e): the landlord may deny the request if the tenant fails to provide accurate, reliable documentation meeting subsection (c) after the landlord asks for it. There is no other denial ground in either section. Two things the sections do not do: they set no deadline for the landlord's answer, and they attach no penalty to a landlord who ignores them, so a tenant's route is the ordinary noncompliance remedy or a claim under the civil-rights act's duty to make reasonable accommodations in rules, policies, practices or services (section 4-21-601). Both sections give the landlord an immunity for injuries caused by an animal permitted as an accommodation, and both make a tenant's misrepresentation a material default.

Who it binds: Section 66-7-111 binds every landlord in the state: the leases chapter carries no population threshold, no unit threshold, no owner-occupancy exemption and no exemption clause. Its twin, section 66-28-406, binds only in counties of more than 75,000 people by the 2010 census, a list frozen when a 2021 act deleted 'or any subsequent federal census' from the applicability section, and it is also subject to that chapter's five non-governed arrangements. Both sections carve out public housing units owned by a governmental entity, and the carve-out is narrow: it operates only to the extent the section conflicts with federal or state law. The civil-rights act's exemptions, for an owner-occupied building of no more than two units and for a single rented room, limit only its own housing section by their own words and do not reach either assistance-animal section, so a Tennessee owner-occupied duplex sits outside the civil-rights housing article and still inside sections 66-28-406 and 66-7-111. The guide-dog sections carry a third scope of their own, which excludes a single-family residence whose occupants rent out not more than one room.

What counts as an assistance animal The definitions are the whole reason Tennessee's rule is wider than most. A 'service animal' is a dog or miniature horse that has been individually trained to work or perform tasks for an individual with a disability. A 'support animal' is 'an animal selected to accompany an individual with a disability that has been prescribed or recommended by a healthcare provider to work, provide assistance, or perform tasks for the benefit of the individual with a disability, or provide emotional support that alleviates one (1) or more identified symptoms or effects of the individual's disability' — species-open, and expressly covering emotional support. A 'healthcare provider' is anyone licensed, certified or otherwise authorized 'by the laws of any state' to administer health care, so an out-of-state provider qualifies. 'Disability' is a self-contained three-part test: a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activities, a record of such an impairment, or being regarded as having one; it is not borrowed from the civil-rights act. All of this is in section 66-28-406, subsection (a), repeated word for word in section 66-7-111. The criminal code carries an opposite definition for a different purpose: for the offense of harming a service animal, the crime-deterrent effect of the animal's presence and the provision of emotional support, well-being, comfort or companionship do not count as work or tasks (section 39-14-216). That is not a housing rule, and a reader who meets it first will get the housing answer backwards.
Documentation a landlord may request, and what a certifier must meet

A two-tier ceiling, not a floor. Where the individual's disability is not readily apparent or known to the landlord, the landlord may ask for reliable documentation of the disability and of the disability-related need for the animal. Where the disability is readily apparent or known but the need is not, the landlord may ask only for reliable documentation of the need. Where both are readily apparent or known, no documentation may be asked for at all (section 66-28-406, subsection (c), and section 66-7-111, subsection (c)).

An online certificate is not, by itself, sufficient. A caregiver, reliable third party or agency may supply it. An out-of-state provider is expressly allowed. A landlord may not require medical records, a diagnosis or its severity.

Who may certify: Three sources, each of which must have actual knowledge of the individual's disability: a healthcare provider; an individual or entity holding a valid, unrestricted license, certification or registration to serve persons with disabilities; or a caregiver, reliable third party, or a governmental entity (section 66-28-406, subsection (a), subdivision (4)(A)). Two features are unusual. A healthcare provider is defined by the laws of any state, so an out-of-state provider qualifies. And the third source needs no credential at all: Tennessee's test is knowledge of the disability rather than professional standing. What is excluded is documentation provided through a website whose primary function is to supply a certificate, registration, license or similar document for a service or support animal for a fee.

The relationship test: There is no minimum period. Each of the three permitted sources must have 'actual knowledge of an individual's disability' (section 66-28-406, subsection (a), subdivision (4)(A)), which is a state of fact about what the person knows rather than a length of treatment or a number of visits.

Tennessee's documentation rule is short, and it is a ceiling on what a landlord may ask rather than a list of hoops for a tenant. If the disability is not obvious or already known, the landlord may ask for reliable documentation of the disability and of the need for the animal; if the disability is obvious or known but the need is not, only the need may be asked about; if both are obvious or known, nothing may be asked for. Reliable documentation must come from a healthcare provider, from an individual or entity licensed, certified or registered to serve persons with disabilities, or from a caregiver, reliable third party or governmental entity, and in every case that source must have actual knowledge of the disability. The provider may be licensed in any state. Documentation bought from a website whose main business is selling animal certificates or registrations does not count, a rule in force since July 1, 2024; note that both halves matter, because the exclusion reaches a site whose primary function is selling such documents for a fee, not a clinician who happens to send a letter through a web portal. A landlord may verify the documentation, but may not obtain confidential or protected medical records or information about the disability, and no remedy is attached to that bar. Tennessee sets no minimum treatment period, no re-evaluation, no prescribed form, no vaccination rule, no deadline for the landlord's answer, and no duty on the person who writes the documentation.

Charges for an assistance animal

No — a state bar on an extra charge reaches an emotional support animal on the face of the definition it hangs on; the bar operates by taking the animal out of the pet policy, in a statute.

Tennessee gets to the same place as a charge bar by a different route, and the route matters to a tenant. There is no sentence saying a landlord shall not charge. Instead, a tenant or prospective tenant with a disability may request an exception to any policy that requires a payment to keep an animal, the landlord may ask only for what the documentation rule allows, and the landlord may say no only if the tenant fails to supply accurate, reliable documentation after being asked. No other ground for refusing appears in either section, so a tenant who supplies accurate documentation has the exception and the pet money falls away. The words reach an emotional support animal, because a support animal is defined to include an animal that provides emotional support alleviating an identified symptom or effect of the disability. Two older prohibitions are flat but narrow, and both are statewide: a legally blind tenant whose guide dog came from a recognized training school may not be charged extra compensation for the dog (section 66-7-104), and may not be charged a deposit for it at all (section 66-7-106). The public-accommodation dog-guide section is not a charge rule and does not reach a home.

The definition it hangs on: "'Support animal' means an animal selected to accompany an individual with a disability that has been prescribed or recommended by a healthcare provider to work, provide assistance, or perform tasks for the benefit of the individual with a disability, or provide emotional support that alleviates one (1) or more identified symptoms or effects of the individual's disability" (Tenn. Code Ann. § 66-28-406(a)(6) = § 66-7-111(a)(6)).

Remedy: The exception mechanism carries no penalty of its own and no deadline, so a landlord who refuses without a documentation failure is met by the ordinary noncompliance remedies in the counties the landlord-tenant act covers, or by a claim under the civil-rights act's accommodation duty, now enforced by the Attorney General's civil rights enforcement division or by a private action under section 4-21-311. The one criminal penalty on the landlord's side is narrow: refusing to lease to a legally blind person because of a guide dog, or otherwise violating that section, is a Class C misdemeanor (section 66-7-106).

Damage caused by an assistance animal

The assistance-animal sections say nothing about who pays for damage a service or support animal does, which leaves the ordinary deposit and lease rules to do that work. The only express allocation in Tennessee law is for guide dogs: a blind tenant entitled to equal access with a guide dog 'shall be liable for any damages done to the premises by such animal' (section 66-7-104). What the assistance-animal sections give instead runs the other way, as a landlord immunity, stated below.

Landlord immunity: Notwithstanding any other law, a landlord is not liable for injuries by a person's service animal or support animal permitted on the premises as a reasonable accommodation under the federal fair-housing, disability or rehabilitation acts or any other federal, state or local law (section 66-28-406, subsection (g), and section 66-7-111, subsection (g)). Read it for what it covers: injuries caused by an animal that was permitted as an accommodation. It does not allocate damage to the premises, it does not touch the tenant's own liability, and it does not reach an ordinary pet, where a Tennessee landlord who lets a pet policy go unenforced can be held liable for what a tenant's dog does.

Misrepresenting an assistance animal

An offense or sanction that reaches a misrepresentation made to obtain housing: a misdemeanor and a ground for eviction, reaching the person claiming the animal and the certifier who signs. Penalty terms: a Class B misdemeanor; and one hundred (100) hours of community service, to be completed within six (6) months of an order issued by the court.

A person commits the offense of misrepresentation of a service animal or support animal who knowingly fraudulently represents, as part of a request to keep such an animal in residential rental property under either assistance-animal section, that the person has a disability or a disability-related need; or provides documentation to a landlord under either section's documentation subsection that falsely states an animal is a service or support animal; or makes such a false representation to an employee of a public accommodation (section 39-16-304). It is a Class B misdemeanor, and a person who commits the offense of misrepresentation of a service animal must also perform 100 hours of community service for an organization serving people with disabilities, within six months of the court's order. The first limb can only be committed by the person claiming the animal. The second limb has no subject restriction at all: on its face it reaches whoever hands the landlord a false document, which includes the person who wrote it, and no court has construed it. No warning is required first and there is no affirmative defense. Alongside the offense, and needing no conviction, no knowledge and no warning, the same conduct is a material default that lets the landlord end the tenancy and recover damages and attorney's fees.

The landlord-side offense: One, and it is confined to guide dogs. A landlord who refuses to lease to a legally blind person because of a guide dog, or who otherwise violates that section, commits a Class C misdemeanor (section 66-7-106). A violation of the first-and-second-floor access priority in the neighboring section is a Class C misdemeanor punishable only by a fine of up to $50 (section 66-7-104).

Where the words leave the reach open: The community-service order's reach is unclear on the enacted words. The first sentence of the penalty subsection names the offense in full, 'misrepresentation of a service animal or support animal', while the second sentence, which imposes the 100 hours, names only 'a person who commits the offense of misrepresentation of a service animal'. Read literally the hours attach to the service-animal branch alone; read as shorthand for the offense's short name they attach to all three limbs. The 2023 act that added the order uses exactly the same words as the code, so this is an ambiguity in the enactment rather than a printing artifact, and no court has resolved it.

Who enforces it: Two routes, and they are independent. The criminal offense is prosecuted like any other misdemeanor. The civil route belongs to the landlord and needs no conviction: misrepresentation or false documentation 'is deemed to be material noncompliance and default by the tenant with the rental agreement', and the landlord may terminate the tenancy and recover damages, including reasonable attorney's fees (section 66-28-406, subsection (f), section 66-7-111, subsection (f), and section 66-28-505, subsection (f)). The lease-default limb in the landlord-tenant act does not apply to public housing units owned by a governmental entity to the extent it conflicts with federal or state law.

Can cities add their own rules

In part — state law preempts the kinds of local rule named as barred, and any power named is one state law grants.

Tennessee preempts, in two different ways, and neither is about breeds. In the counties the landlord-tenant act covers, that chapter occupies the entire field of landlord and tenant regulation and a county may not add to it, which reaches a local pet-deposit or pet-rent rule; the sentence that spells out the prohibition names county governing bodies only, so the position of a city ordinance inside such a county is unsettled and untested. Statewide, no political subdivision may pass an ordinance controlling the amount of rent charged, which reaches a cap on monthly pet rent, with a private action for damages. What Tennessee does not have is any statute about local breed rules: 8,442 public acts across sixteen years contain no breed enactment in either direction, so a local breed-specific dog ordinance stands or falls on general home-rule law. No Tennessee city has a pet-in-housing ordinance on record here; Nashville and Memphis both sit in counties the landlord-tenant act covers.

The whole landlord-tenant field occupied: In the counties the landlord-tenant act covers, that chapter 'occupies and preempts the entire field of legislation concerning the regulation of landlords and tenants', and the governing body of such a county may not enact or enforce regulations that conflict with, or are an addition to, the chapter. A local pet-deposit cap, pet-rent cap or pet-policy mandate in one of those counties is an addition to the chapter. The express prohibition sentence names county governing bodies only, so whether a city ordinance inside such a county survives the field-occupation sentence is unsettled on the words, and no court has decided it. Text: Tenn. Code Ann. § 66-28-102(e).

Local rent control barred: Statewide, no local governmental unit, meaning any political subdivision including a county or an incorporated municipality, may enact, maintain or enforce an ordinance or resolution that would have the effect of controlling the amount of rent charged for leasing private residential property, and a private action for actual damages lies for a violation. Monthly pet rent is an amount of rent charged, so a local cap on it meets this bar; a cap on a one-time fee or a refundable deposit is further from those words and is not clearly caught. Text: Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 66-35-101, 66-35-102 · § 66-35-102(a), (b)(3).

Housing classes with their own pet rule No manufactured-home park, publicly financed, public-housing or senior-housing rule departs from the answers above
Insurance and dog breeds No statute restricts an insurer's use of dog breed in underwriting
How state law refers to the federal rules Tennessee's assistance-animal rule is its own: it defines its own terms, sets its own documentation standard and takes no definition from federal law. Federal law is named in two places and neither is an adoption of a federal rule. The landlord immunity applies where the animal was permitted as a reasonable accommodation under the federal fair-housing act, the Americans with Disabilities Act, section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act 'or any other federal, state, or local law', so the trigger for the immunity moves with whatever law required the accommodation. And public housing is carved out of the assistance-animal sections, and of the landlord-tenant act's application to units regulated by the federal housing department, only to the extent state law conflicts with the federal requirement. No federal notice or letter is incorporated by any Tennessee statute or rule. The federal section of the 50-state page carries the federal layer; Tennessee's protection for an animal kept for emotional support is a 2019 statute amended in 2024 and does not depend on it.
Changes already signed into law 2026 Public Acts, chapter 606, section 3: From January 1, 2027 the section on a landlord's rules gains a seventh condition: a rule or regulation must not violate the new tenant firearm rights section. The six existing conditions, which are what govern a pet rule and a mid-tenancy change to one, are unchanged, and the new condition is not a pets provision. The code already prints both versions side by side, and this page states the version in force today. Text: 2026 Public Acts, ch. 606 · § 3.
Leading court decisions Gardenia Parker v. Epstein Enterprises, LLC, No. W2019-00311-COA-R3-CV (Tennessee Court of Appeals at Jackson; 2020; residential setting; bears on the topic as a whole): A jury verdict against the owner and the manager of a Memphis apartment complex, for a fatal attack by dogs a tenant's household kept, was affirmed, with the trial court's reduction of damages from $2.5 million to $1.3 million left standing. The complex's standard lease allowed no pets without express written permission, the manager had seen the dogs days before the attack, and the policy went unenforced. It is a negligence decision rather than an assistance-animal one, and it is the measure of what a Tennessee landlord risks by leaving a pet policy unenforced, which is exactly the exposure the statutory immunity removes only for an animal permitted as a reasonable accommodation.

Cite this page: "Landlord Atlas, Tennessee Pet & Assistance Animal Laws (verified September 21, 2026), landlordatlas.com/laws/pets/tennessee/" — free to cite and quote with a link (how these records are verified). Everything above is cited in the citations section below.

Tennessee assistance-animal documentation at a glance

Each row is what the state's own statute or rule says about that slot; a row that reads not stated is a slot no state text addresses. The full text of each slot, with its section, is in the table above.

Slot What the state's text says
Who may certify, and on what test A caregiver, reliable third party or agency may supply it. An out-of-state provider is expressly allowed.
The certifier's minimum relationship period A qualitative test, no day count
Telehealth Not stated
Online registration or certificate Does not satisfy the rule by itself
Form Not stated
Medical records May not be required
Written answer from the landlord Not stated
Annual re-evaluation Not stated
Proof of vaccination or licensing Not stated

Federal law on pets and assistance animals, in every state

The federal layer for the pets and assistance-animals topic, carried once for the whole site. It is a dated history rather than a single rule: the Fair Housing Act's accommodation duty has not changed since 1988 and the regulation under it has never contained the word animal, while the HUD guidance that most writing on this subject still quotes was withdrawn in September 2025, permanently rescinded in May 2026, and replaced by an enforcement position that governs HUD's own cause determinations and nothing else. Every row names who it binds, and most of the rows that carry real figures bind only federally assisted, public or rural-development housing. No state record restates these rows; a state record says only where its own law references or extends them. Each row below says who it binds before it says what it does. The full text of each row, with its citations, is on the 50-state page.

Notes and caveats

Common questions: Tennessee pets & assistance animals

Each answer is the verified value from the table above, restated as a direct answer. Free to quote with a link to this page.

Can a landlord charge a pet deposit in Tennessee, and is there a limit?
Yes, with no statutory limit. No Tennessee statute mentions a pet deposit, and Tennessee caps no security deposit of any kind, so there is no ceiling for a pet deposit to sit under and none for it to count against.
Can a landlord charge pet rent or a non-refundable pet fee in Tennessee?
Yes — pet rent or a pet fee may be charged, and no statute caps it. Tennessee sets no figure for pet rent, a pet fee or a pet deposit, imposes no reasonableness standard on any of them, and has no bar on non-refundable fees, so all three are lease terms.
Does a Tennessee lease have to state a pet policy?
No — but a written-rules or mid-term-change provision would govern a pet rule the landlord adopts. No Tennessee statute requires a lease to state a pet policy, prescribes a pet clause, supplies a default when the lease is silent, or limits how many animals a tenant may keep.
Can a Tennessee landlord restrict pets by breed, size or weight?
Yes. Tennessee law says nothing about breed, size or weight in rental housing, in either direction and in every housing class.
Does Tennessee have its own assistance-animal law for rentals?
Yes — a state statute or rule sets what a landlord may request or what a certifier must meet for an assistance animal in housing. The operative rules are statutory.
What documentation can a Tennessee landlord ask for when a tenant requests an assistance animal?
A two-tier ceiling, not a floor. Where the individual's disability is not readily apparent or known to the landlord, the landlord may ask for reliable documentation of the disability and of the disability-related need for the animal.
Can a Tennessee landlord charge a pet deposit or pet rent for an emotional support animal?
No — a state bar on an extra charge reaches an emotional support animal on the face of the definition it hangs on; the bar operates by taking the animal out of the pet policy, in a statute. Tennessee gets to the same place as a charge bar by a different route, and the route matters to a tenant.
What is the penalty for falsely claiming an assistance animal in Tennessee?
An offense or sanction that reaches a misrepresentation made to obtain housing: a misdemeanor and a ground for eviction, reaching the person claiming the animal and the certifier who signs. Penalty terms: a Class B misdemeanor; and one hundred (100) hours of community service, to be completed within six (6) months of an order issued by the court.

Citations

How this record was verified: Direct reading of the Tennessee Code Unannotated on the State's own free public-access service, whose every section document prints the line 'Current through the 2026 Regular Session and the 2026 2nd Extraordinary Session.' Title 66 chapter 28 (the Uniform Residential Landlord and Tenant Act) and chapter 7 (Leases) were read complete, all 66 section documents, including both printed versions of section 66-28-402, together with chapter 35 on local rent control; sections 66-28-406 and 66-7-111 were compared word by word and differ only in two non-substantive words. Sections outside that text were read on the same official service: 39-16-304, 39-14-216, 62-7-112, 4-21-102, 4-21-601 and 4-21-602, alongside a term search of the whole code. Seven enrolled acts were read as the Secretary of State publishes them: 2019 chapter 236, 2021 chapter 182, 2023 chapter 194, 2024 chapter 754, 2025 chapter 471, 2026 chapter 606 and 2026 chapter 662, each for its own effective-date section, and every signing date was taken from the bill's own action history on the legislature's site. The Secretary of State's complete rolls of public chapters for the 107th through 114th General Assemblies, 8,442 chapters covering 2011 to 2026, were read and searched for breed, dog, animal and insurance acts. Four administrative-code chapters were read as files: the three Human Rights Commission chapters, each printing 'REPEALED' with the sentence 'Repealed pursuant to Chapter 662, § 1 of the 2026 Public Acts, effective April 1, 2026', and the four substantive Tennessee Housing Development Agency chapters. Nine searches of the state opinion archive were run, with a control search returning 41 results to show the archive is populated; one decision, Gardenia Parker v. Epstein Enterprises, LLC (Tenn. Ct. App. 2020), was read in full.

What was read to state each absence on this page: